Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 3, 2007, 3:36 PM   #1

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Sorry to pester again...

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"My best friend is about to give birth any moment. And I'm going to be a VERY proud aunty.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I won't be seeing her till the beginning of December (she lives about 130 miles away) so I've a chance to read up and research.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"She's the first in my circle of friends to give birth so I've no experience of photographing babes.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Any tips?

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I have a Canon 400D/Xti and the 18-55 kitlens and a cheapo 55-200 lens plus a load of Cokin filters I've inherited.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Would you recommend I get a better lens?Will I need external flash? It's coming to Winter in Britain so it'll be mostly indoor shots, if that helps.

Many thanks in advance, as always!

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"

Beejygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 3, 2007, 4:31 PM   #2

Babies are notorious for not hoding still when someone says "Cheese". This being the case, I would opt for an external flash, with the caveat that you don't pont it directly in the baby's eyes. (I don't know that it is harmful, but little ones don't have fully developed reflexes, and the pupils tend to remain dilated. Besides, it makes for strong redeye) Bounce the flash off the ceiling for good, general illumination.

Baby pictures are not really in my area of interest, but my sister has an adorable granddaughter, and bought a camera just to take photos of her. Some of the best (IMO) were taken under soft, incandescent light while she was asleep (and still-allowing the longer shutter speeds).

And, thank you for specifying 'with a camera', as I haven't developed a skeet thrower which will handle 8-10 pounds --- yet.

VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote