Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 25, 2007, 6:45 PM   #1

OK...be patient with me because I'm trying to understand and learn at the same time. I have been searching and reading for the last week and it's just not sinking in.:G

Canon 350D

Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM lens

I just started shooting wildlife within the last three weeks and it seems about 90% of the shots I've taken are blurry or half of the subject is blurry and the other half is in focus....especially when I crop the image. The subjects range from 3" long to 7"-18" long and the distance is anywhere from 8'-20' away. I understand at one certainpoint the image is in acceptable focus but as the image is cropped things tend to de-focus.

Is my problemdistance, camera settings or a combination of both. I mainly shoot in aperture priority and today I varied the aperture settings but had the same results. I alsoknow that hand shake is part of the culprit but I can tell those images right off the bat when I review them on the LCD but what I'm mainly concerned about are the photo's where the body is in focus but the head isn't. I double checked my focus points when I go to edit the photo's and they're right in the center (body) of the subject.

This is an example of what I'm refering to....

No crop:

60% crop with the head out of focus:

I will apologize ahead of time if this is a basic question but it's something I've been trying to figure out on my own for some time so it's not basic to me. :?

Thank you and sorry for the long winded post,

EDIT: I've read this link about 10 times so far. :G

3RDI Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2007, 7:41 PM   #2

from the sample you included I would say the problem is twofold:

1. subject is too small in the frame - making it difficult to get accurate focus

2. subject is too small in the frame - resulting in too little detail captured.