Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 15, 2003, 7:07 AM   #1
Default dSLR Dilemma - HELP ?????????????

I am relatively new to digicams and digital photography and would consider myself as a serious amateur film photographer. I've owned the Nikon N80 (F80 in Canada) for a bout 1.5 years now, which I love and use extensively. I am looking at getting serious about digital photography. I have 2 children (5 and 9) and take lots of family pics of which 25% are is low-light conditions. I am looking for a dSLR that will give accurate color, detail, realistic skin tones and most be able to handle the low-light conditions. I have tried several digicams (Nikon 990, Nikon 5000, Canon S230, Olympus C-5050Z). The most impressive so far was the C-5050Z which always provided exceptional 8x10" prints from my Canon i950 without any post-production processing. I did also buy Photoshop Elements, but I never have enough time to learn or use the application (due to work, children, night studies, etc...). My only regret with the C-5050Z was the limitation of the built-in lens (wide angle and telephoto) as well as the limited options of add-on lenses. This is why I am now looking at dSLRs (inter-changeable lenses). With my Nikon N80, I only own 1 Nikon lens and the Nikon SB-28 speedlight. Since I do not a have a big investment in Nikon lenses (and only own the SB-28 speedlight), besides the Nikon D100 or Fuji S2 Pro I would also considering either the Canon EOS-300D (Digital Rebel) or the Canon EOS-10D. With a limited budget of $2500 (Canadian) I can get the Canon EOS-300D kit, Canon 420EX flash and a second Canon EF lens. But if I look at the other dSLRs mentioned above, I would have to add an additional $700 (Canadian) to get just the camera bodies (no lenses nor external flash). Therefore, the 300D looks like it will give me the most BANG for the BUCK. Any suggestions? Am I making the right decision, or should I hold out? HELP (this is a big financial