Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 17, 2008, 9:46 AM   #1

I am a total newbie when it comes to higher end digital cameras with all the buttons and settings and so on...

So I am totally lost right now and am in need of some major help!

I got a Konica Minolta Maxxum 5D from my husband's boss...he was going to sell on Ebay but my husband got it for me instead for our Anniversary gift,

I have a two year old son and so I am trying to take pictures of him...a subject that never sits still...

ALL the pictures have this motion blur to them...not a "my hand shaking" thing...but his movement is being captured as blur...

Nate's boss told me to change the ISO to between 100-300...I put it on 100 but it does it...I put it on Auto and it does it....I put it on the highest number and it does it...is this really the setting to mess with for this problem???

What can I do...please someone help me since I am clueless and in need of some help...I love the camera so far...and got a TON of things such as 2 extra lenses and stuff with it...but if I cant figure this out...it all will be no good to me!

Thanks so much,
sheasley76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 17, 2008, 9:53 AM   #2

The higher the ISO speed, the faster your shutter speeds will be.

I often shoot at ISO 1600 or even ISO 3200 indoors if not using a flash.

But, you'll also need to use a bright lens to get away with that if you don't want any motion blur (forget the 18-70mm kit lens, which is down to f/5.6 if you zoom in much with it).