Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 1, 2003, 1:09 PM   #1
Default ALERT - READ how I killed my brand new camera... (Help!)

ops: I'm a newbie with her first digital: an Olympus C-3000ZOOM. It was working perfectly until I did a bad bad thing - forgot for a split second the info. in the TINY note at the bottom of page 36 which says: "do not turn on the power without removing the lens cap first", and did precisely that. I only wanted to erase a pic and was not intending to take a photo so simply forgot to remove the lenscap. In a half second I realized my mistake and turned the camera off, but electricity, being far faster than myself has done ????? and now the camera seems completely non-functional. Could some kind soul explain to me what has happened and advise me as to what I should do after I finish kicking myself into the next time zone? So far (with the lenscap off!) I have only tried the "P" and the " :arrow: " on the mode dial: no power. Then I took out the 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries (included with the camera) and tested them...the results read 2.8V and 2.7V respectively, so I put them back in the camera, closed the door, removed the lenscap and retried the "P" and " :arrow: " again: still no power. I am SO not happy about this. Rant and vent: How many jokes have we heard about someone 'forgetting to take the lenscap off'? Or looked through binoculars only to see the lenscaps? These digital cameras have many functions other than the taking of a picture during which protection of the lens would, of course, be preferable (understatement). I can almost smell a rat in what is an accident waiting to happen (NO inclusion in the manual of a Caution! or Warning! or Danger! before the tiny note and no indication of what the result is going to be: (i'm guessing) an expensive repair!! I can turn on my camcorder (Sony) with its lenscap on - no problem! A friend called it "planned obselecense" (sp?) and another referred to it as a "built-