Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 2, 2003, 5:47 AM   #1
Default New camera advice

Hi, im not a total newbie (got first digital camera about a year ago) but i dont know that much about photography.

I have found that i am using the camera an awfull lot now and i am thinking of updating to a better camera that will suit my needs better.

I am mostly taking motorsport/car show pics at the moment, so i a camera that has a decent zoom (preferrably 6x or more), good quick shutter speed and preferrably not much delay between pressing the button and the camera taking the picture.

I would also like to have the option of adding an external flash as most car shows here are held in poor lit buildings or at nite.

I have used SLR cameras in the past so i would like somethign of a similar look and feel (but not the cost) to that if possible. Used a mates Cannon 10D recently and was very impressed with the pics it produced.

Have been looking at something like the Fuji S602, but i was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions on similar spec/price cameras that would suit me.

Zordey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 2, 2003, 12:17 PM   #2

If you don't want to go to the expense of a Digital SLR like the Canon EOS-10D, or the new lower cost EOS-300D/Digital Rebel (which uses the same sensor as the 10D), you may want to look at a camera like the Sony DSC-F717, too.

The Sony DSC-F717 has a lens that is better suited for lower light photography. It's 38-190mm (5x) Optical Zoom lens is rated at F2.0 at wide angle, stopping down to only F2.4 at full zoom.

This is much brighter than most cameras. F2.0 is twice as bright as F2.8, allowing faster shutter speeds compared to competing models in low light -- especially at it's maximum zoom compared to others.

The DSC-F717 has a hot shoe which supports Sony's HVL-F1000 flash unit with a direct synch connection as well as other third party flash units.