Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 8, 2008, 11:24 AM   #1

Hello all. I am pretty new to digital photography and I have been wanting to get to a more advanced level and be able to do it on the side (at first) for extra income with the hopes of doing it on a full time basis (studio).

I am definitely in learning mode and this has been a great place for information. Thanks to all the experienced people here who have helped us n00bs! My grandfather who is an avid photographer, recommended this place a long time ago. Unfortunately he passed before I really got serious about photography. This is why I have gotten interested in it.

I currently have a Nikon D80, Nikon AF Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF, and the SB-800 AF Speedlight. I currently only have this one lens that my grandfather recommended as a good "starter general lens". I am wanting to do outdoor portraits and after some skills are honed do weddings. The ultimate goal is to do studio portraits. I am still struggling to find a good combination of lenses to use in these situations and I am still researching these but why I am posting now is to ask about bodies.

I am considering the D3 and I have looked at the specs over the D80 and I understand the differences of the sensors (FX vs DX) and I understand the speed differences of the two. However a lot of specs are still somewhat Greek and I am slowly learning.

In your opinion, are there substantial differences in the two to justify the cost of a D3 over the D80 for what I am wanting to do? Or would it be better to just get the quality lenses I need and continue to use the D80?

Sorry for the rambling but I didn't want to post a vague question.
Finedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2008, 12:32 PM   #2

What do you find limiting with your current system? A new body will not always improve your results.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2008, 12:34 PM   #3