Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 23, 2003, 8:31 PM   #1
Default a new camera, size does matter here

I am an experienced photographer buying my first digital. Very confusing with all the choices! Requirments: 4-5 mb (is there a difference for 8x10 cropped shots), good zoom, quality, and a small size. I would like apature priority if possible. Price point will be decided by my requirments. I am not a fan of spending too much, but if the camera falls short then I wasted the money.

I found with my Nikon, that to take the camera places, I had to have the "bag" with everything, and I was always afraid of smashing it. For action shots, skiing or climbing, it was too buky and once again, afraid to fall on it. So I feel if the camera will fit in a pocket then it may get used more often.

I am sure that there are things that should be important that I am not aware of the significane yet. and so I am looking to you experts to let me know the important items. This may include start up time, memory type, size of screen, or view finder.

Thanks for helping yet another person out!
kfitz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 24, 2003, 9:46 AM   #2

Well the good news is that you donít have to compromise as much to go to a pocket camera in digital as you did in 35mm. The smaller sensor allows a greater zoom range and you can far exceed the point and shoot capabilities of most 35mm pocket cameras.

The bad news is that there are still compromises. The viewfinder and interface with the camera is the limitation I most notice. The little rangefinder type optical finders typically show 80% - 85% of the final shot. So you are losing nearly a Mp of sensor capability right off the bat unless you frame with the LCD, and if you have a good steady shooting technique you arenít likely to do that very much.