Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 17, 2009, 9:48 PM   #1

I am a newbie photographer and I have decided to buy a Canon Rebel xsi. I plan on taking a photography course, but I am interested in buying a body/lens combination package. Do I need the lenses that I buy to have image stabilization? I don't want to have to take a tripod with me where ever I go....
Karita52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2009, 10:28 PM   #2

Image stabilization reduces, if not eliminates, motion blur due to camera shake. If you can keep the shutter speed fast enough, then you can't shake the camera enough to produce motion blur. The 'Rule of Thumb' had been that if you can keep the shutter speed faster than the inverse of the focal length, you'll be fine. That works out to be 1/200 second if you're using a 200mm lens, but that was for 35mm film cameras. With dSLRs with the smaller APS-C image sensors, you need to increase the focal length by the 'Crop Factor', so with a 200mm lens on the XSi, which has a Crop Factor of 1.6X, you need to keep the shutter speed faster than 1/320 second.

This isn't usually difficult, but at shorter focal lengths, when you're trying to shoot in low light, sometimes it's difficult to keep the shutter speed faster than 1/32 second when you're shooting with a focal length of 20mm.

So, do you need image stabilization?

You won't know for sure until you needed it and didn't have it.

If you get lenses that are stabilized, you can always turn the stabilization off.

But if you get lenses that aren't stabilized, you can't turn it on.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 10:40 AM   #3