Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 31, 2002, 11:16 AM   #1
Default Take me through the process...

For those who have read it, this is a repeat of a post I put in the general q and a sec.
I am a newbie and I need assistance on the general process one would take to bring a digital image from the camera to the best finished product. I just purchases the qimage software and I am slowly reading through the directions but nowhere does it give me the general rules or plan for photos. Do I adjust color first, then contrast etc. ? or is there a logical plan to follow. I truly enjoy this web site and the knowledge Iv'e gain so far by just reading your insightful comments have been fantastic. Thank you.

[Edited on 7-31-2002 by Scott the Fireman]
Scott the Fireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 1, 2002, 10:16 AM   #2
Default Warning: long response

Terrific question but there is no direct answer. It depends on a lot of things like the camera you're using, the conditions of the shoot, the content, etc. etc.

I shoot with two cameras, a point and shoot Canon A10 and a Minolta Dimage 7. I strive to take the original image so that it needs as little post production manipulation as possible. This means many things such as correct exposure, exposure latitude, color balance and composition. These are all things that apply to traditional film photography.

I download the images to my PC using a CF reader. The Dimage 7 images are converted to sRGB color space using Minilta's software. After that everything goes into Paintshop Pro for editing.