Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 25, 2009, 8:35 AM   #1
Default Why do straight lines look bent?

This may seem like a dumb question. My daughter's been trying to teach me how to use a dSLR, and something happened while she was teaching me that's got me curious. I've had my fill of asking my daughter questions, so I thought I'd ask you.

We were taking a picture of a building and were standing between some columns in the building opposite (she reckoned they might make the main subject more interesting). When we got home and looked at the pictures, the bottom of the columns looked straight, but as you looked up them they curved inwards. What's the reason for this? I think I understand the physics (I was a physics teacher at one stage), but I'm still surprised by how marked the curvature was.

We were using a Nikon 18-200 lens if that's of any use.
JimBowen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 25, 2009, 8:53 AM   #2

Originally Posted by JimBowen1 View Post
What's the reason for this? I think I understand the physics (I was a physics teacher at one stage), but I'm still surprised by how marked the curvature was...
Image-modifying software needs to catch up with the unavoidable defects of optical physics. Lens manufacturers do their best, but it's not quite enough, yet. Cost constraints are rather important! Thye've done it for Hubble's defects!

Last edited by Alan T; May 25, 2009 at 8:56 AM.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2009, 9:16 AM   #3