Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 8, 2003, 8:07 AM   #1
Default Which of these 3 would you recommend

First off let me say I am very new to the digital camera market and would appreciate any help. I have been reading through a lot of the posts for the last week and think I narrowed down my search to 3 different camera and would like an opinion on which you would purchase.
Nikon CoolPix 3100
Canon Powershopt A70
Fuji FinePix A210

I will be using this basically to photograph my children during all times of the day, sporting events etc. I have never used a digital before so would like something that is fairly easy to operate. I like the fact that the Nikon has a sports mode but am not sure if that should determine my purchase.

I would also like to thank everyone for their help. The responses to all the newbie questions must start to get on the more experienced peoples nerves but let me say they help more than you could know.

valerie s
valerieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2003, 1:47 PM   #2

ValerieS: As you will appreciate, there are many cameras to look at and you have narrowed down your choices. Nearly every user will recommend their own, so that isn't always helpful. You have the usual 'buy from reliable dealer' question to answer. But if you have got to your choice of 3, why not download some of Steve's test result pics in his review section and compare them or print out the images?

The next thing which you can't do over the net is try the camera for size, weight, ease of use etc. So why not visit a store to do some tests, take your own media card if necessary, shoot as many test pics as possible, indoor flash and in the doorway to outdoors - then look at the pics at home before making a decision? If you go for mail order, can you find a dealer offering no hassle returns? checkout warranty as well. Good luck VOX
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2003, 1:53 PM   #3