Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 8, 2003, 7:48 PM   #1
Default Which do you prefer?

Fujifilm FinePix S5000
Kodak DX6490
Minolta DiMAGE Z1
Olympus CAMEDIA C-750 Ultra Zoom
Toshiba PDR-M700

We are looking for a digital camera for the family. I have no experience with digital cameras. The above models seem to have comparable features. We have read through Steveís conclusions and all of these cameras sound like they will do what we want. We would just like to have additional feedback from people that have used these cameras. Please include what you like and donít like about each camera.

Price limit is between $500.
At least 6x Optical zoom prefer 10x
At least 128meg memory,
Battery charger,
Card reader.

The camera will be used for indoor photos(holidays), outdoor photos and possibly shots of wildlife(deer, birds, and critters). Do any of these cameras have the ability to increase the optical zoom with add on lenses and at what price?

If you have favorite camera within our price range that is not listed we would welcome your recommendations.

Bart_115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2003, 8:03 PM   #2

Hi Bart,
You've got quite a list of good cameras there. May I suggest the Canon S45 or 50, to throw in the mix. I don't know if they have the features your looking for, but I'm pretty sure they fit in your price range. I have an S30 (3mp) and love the darn thing!!!
Chrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2003, 9:36 PM   #3

I've carefully followed these cameras. IMO, the Olympus C-750UZ has the best image quality out of the cameras in your list.