Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 1, 2009, 1:14 PM   #1
Default Need Advice On Photo Quality

I'm basically a newbie to photography. I have a Panasonic Lumix FZ-18, and I have been taking pictures in AI mode, which is the point-and-shoot setting. The pictures are in JPEG format.

I've noticed that some photos tend to have a lot of "noise" or blotchiness to them in certain areas, especially if I use the zoom or if I crop a photo. It seems to occur more in distant objects, the ones outside of the focus area.

Is this because I'm shooting in JPEG? Or is it because I'm using the automatic settings??

I've been making a lot of progress with my composition, but I really need advice on clearing up the image. I took a great picture, blew it up to 18 x 24, and was disappointed in the lack of sharpness and clarity, and the amount of pixel noise.

Thanks in advance!

KarenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 1, 2009, 3:37 PM   #2

This is a huge topic. I'll indicate a few of the entry points for what you are concerned about. First, a given photo will have less sensor noise if the ISO setting of the camera is lower. Faster settings create more noise. I have the FZ-20, which is an older Panasonic ultrazoom. I normally leave the ISO set to 100 if possible to limit the sensor noise.

Second, you have a series of adjustments you can make in your camera's setup menu for Picture Adjustment: Contrast, Sharpness, Saturation, and Noise Reduction. You can increase the Noise Reduction setting (which will cause some loss of detail in the image in addition to reducing the noise). Alternatively, as your manual notes, you can turn down the Contrast, Sharpness, and Saturation.