Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 13, 2009, 2:53 PM   #1
Default Newb here

Hi Guys! Just joined this forum today. I got a Nikon D3000 for my birthday today. I mainly wanted a camera to take action shots at my son's football games.
I read the manual and took a few pics of my fish and corals and the camera seems great!

I was wondering if anyone can tell me what settings I should use to photograph football.... Most of his games are at night under stadium lights, but some are played during the day.

This camera does have a sports setting, but was told thats not the correct setting to use for good action shots.

Any help is appreciated since I'm new to this!
BethSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 13, 2009, 4:59 PM   #2

The D3000 doesn't have an internal autofocus motor, so to autofocus, you'll need to stick to Nikon's AF-S, Sigma's HSM (and other lenses, though it's not clear which lenses have motors from any designation) and Tamron's BIM lenses.

For daylight sports, you could probably use the Tamron 70-300 Di LD. Sigma has a 70-300 with a motor, but it's more expensive and not as good. Nikon has a 70-300 AF-S VR lens, but it's stabilized and therefore expensive.

For night games, you'll need a lens with a larger aperture (in order to get the same shutter speeds), which will be a lot more expensive. Nikon, Sigma and Tamron all make a 70-200mm f/2.8 which will be fast enough, but because that's shorter, your shooting opportunities will be fewer.

Anyway, welcome to Steve's, and good luck.
  • The lens is the thing.
  • 'Full Frame' is the new 'Medium Format'.
  • "One good test is worth a thousand expert opinions." - Tex Johnston, Boeing 707 test pilot.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2009, 9:48 AM   #3

Shooting night sports is a classic low light situation. As TCav noted, you will want a long lens.

The three things that control exposure are shutter speed ISO (sensitivity), and f/stop.