Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 22, 2009, 9:07 PM   #1

Default why shoot in both raw and jpeg?

I am a real beginner in the field of RAW photography, but can see the advantages of using it when taking pictures. What I cannot understand is, why do so many people recommend taking pics in both RAW and JPEG? Afterall, you can convert any RAW files easily enough to JPEG on your PC having first done any editing you want to them. Why take up precious space on your memory card to record both? please can someone enlighten me?
simonbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2009, 10:37 PM   #2

I personally shoot only RAW myself, but there's one thing that I read and one thing my brain managed to come up with. The one thing that I read is that some people say it improves their workflow. JPEGs are faster to work with overall and the one thing I thought of based on a recent experience ties into this.

If I pass my photos to a client to proof, then I need to convert each RAW file to JPEG, otherwise the client cannot do a thing with the RAW files (talking about ordinary people, not companies that can process them or know what they are doing). And it can take a little extra time to do all that saving, so if I were to have both RAW+JPEG, then I could've just quickly burned those JPEG files to CD or DVD and be over with it; well until the client comes back with whatever request.

Based on that, I might actually get into the habit of shooting RAW+JPEG... especially when there are over a hundred images to deal with, and I'm not too worried about memory as I have plenty of storage. But photos shot for my own purposes, I'll just stick to RAW personally.
Old Nov 23, 2009, 3:01 AM   #3