Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 24, 2010, 1:30 PM   #1
Default taking pics in an auditorium far off?

Newbie here with a Canon Rebel XSi. I went to my son's preschool graduation yesterday. It was held in a school auditorium. The lights were off but the stage lights were on. I used my telephoto lens (with IS). I would have liked to have been able to zoom a little further since we were sitting pretty far back, but the problem was the pics weren't clear....and were a little dark. I adjusted them with Corel Paint Shop Pro PhotoX2, but they still don't look very clear. I know flash won't work that far off. What does one have to do to get good clear pics in that situation? Is it even possible without a professional setup?
tonya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2010, 3:00 PM   #2

What setting did you use? From one amateur to another, you can try going to AV mode, then go into tools and set ISO to max, which I think is 1600 for that camera. You can then use the dial to open aperture to the max, and the camera will set the shutter speed. I have the same problem, if you do not have a lense with a f/2.0, it is hard. The only thing that helps is setting your ISO to max. I have a XT, which is the older version of yours, and with a canon 85mm 1.8 I get good results, but no zoom. hope this help
Mark2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 3:18 PM   #3

Tonya - one big issue you mentioned that is very important - even with your longest lens you were still too far away. You're not going to get good results when you're too far away. The answer is - you need to move closer. Even so, it's going to be tough going with an f5.6 lens.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 7:38 PM   #4

tonya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2010, 6:14 PM   #5
Location: In mountainous California or Arizona or Guatemala or somewhere.