Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 28, 2010, 7:33 PM   #1
Default Aperture vs. ISO vs. Shutter Speed?

So I'm just beginning to understand these basic elements of photography (I have a Nikon D90), and my question is this: What exactly are these three things, and how do they affect the brightness of each photo?

Obviously I understand shutter speed - the number of seconds (or 1/x seconds) it takes for the shutter to open and close, and the longer it's open, the brighter the picture is going to be (aka: exposure). But the other two I don't know about, and I know they're all related somehow. So if someone could present these basic concepts in a "Layman's Terms" sort of way, I'd greatly appreciate it.
SpikeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 28, 2010, 8:07 PM   #2

Aperture is the size of the hole that the light travels through... A camera
lens controls aperture (the size of the hole) with multiple sliding "Blades"
that can make the hole smaller or larger...

ISO is the speed at which the film (or sensor when dealing with digital
cameras) reacts to the light that hits it...

It would take volumes to explain all of this in detail... Google can help you
find many explanations and definitions for different photography terms and
what they mean, as well as many tutorials dealing with photography...

Here's one such tutorial that you may find helps you understand photography,
Photographic terms, and how it all works...

At the end of that tutorial is a link to a page that has more tutorials... Some
basic, some more advanced...

Hope that helps...

Last edited by Wizzard0003; Oct 28, 2010 at 8:12 PM.
Wizzard0003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 10:06 PM   #3