Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 12, 2010, 12:52 PM   #1
Default Image data

I'm a complete noob, so bear with me.

Is there a way to find out what camera/lens/setting were used when you have an image on an SD or CF card?

I keep seeing people posting images with information such as:

Canon 7D, 10mm @ F9, 1/250s at ISO-100, -.3

Canon XTi, 270mm @ F9, 1/640s at ISO-400, -.3

Do people just remember this off the top of their head?
ZachOly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2010, 1:18 PM   #2

Any EXIF reader can see that information (it's embedded in the photos, unless a user's editor strips it out).

There are a number of EXIF viewers available that can act as internet browser addons, too.

I use more than one with Firefox (you can have more than one installed at the same time).

Exif Viewer by Alan Raskin and FxIF by Ted Mielczarek are both cross platform addons for Firefox (they work in Firefox, regardless of your operating system). But, note that only Alan Raskin's addon is compatible with newer Firefox versions.

An EXIF viewer with more Maker Notes information for many cameras is PhotoME (that's the one I use more often when reviewing photos posted here).

I use the latest Beta version (first download link on their downloads page). It's Windows only, but it also works in Wine under Linux if you install the GDI+ libraries mentioned on the download page:

If you install the Firefox addon mentioned on this page (after you install the main PhotoME application), you will see a new menu choice when you right click on an image in Firefox that lets you "Open using PhotoME". This only works with the Windows version of Firefox. With Linux, you'd need to install the Windows version of Firefox under Wine to get that menu option.