Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 3, 2013, 2:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default Newb Question RE:Tokina 28-70 F2.8 On D60

Just bought this outfit used but in super nice condition.The Tokina is marked AF which I assume is auto focus but the menu in the D60 is grayed out and set to MF.Is the lens in fact AF or am I doing something wrong?From Photozone:

The lens features a so called focus-clutch mechanism which allows you to change between AF and MF operation by pushing/pulling the focus ring. Unfortunately it is a quite imperfect implementation because this can only be done at the infinity setting (the AF 28-80mm f/2.8 AT-X Pro doesn´t suffer from this limitation). However, you can also use a conventional AF/MF switch for doing so. The AF speed of the lens is quite good though nothing to rave about. The noise during AF operation is relatively low but well noticeable (standard AF micro motor).

Not sure how this works...any help is appreciated.
biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 5, 2013, 12:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Virginia Area
Posts: 2,029
Default

Some camera require yhou to fine tune the menu settings to use the App rin on lenses and use older AF focus lenses. I am not fimilar with D60 camera but on my Pentax K-5 I have to set a menu option to on or my older 50mm will not work on my camera at all. Hopes this gets you going in the right direction
Photo 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2013, 1:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,093
Default

The D60 doesn't have a focusing motor, and neither does the Tokina 28-70 AIUI. However, since the lens is AF, it provides all the information to the camera that any other AF lens does -- it just doesn't have a motor to make use of that information. You should be able to use the RangeFinder option in the viewfinder (user manual page 61), and use your wrist as the "focus motor" to achieve ths same focusing you would have gotten with auto-focus. HTH
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2013, 4:26 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for your reply's,it'll make it a little easier.
biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
0
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:00 PM.




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2