Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 13, 2014, 7:30 PM   #1
Default Is my camera broken or my memory card??

I have a Sony Cyber Shot and i've been using this for about 3 years now. Last week when i turned on my camera it said "No memory card". But there is! My camera is not broken physically.... And when i tried to put my memory card in my computer to sync all of my pictures, it sync into my computer fine. I dont know what is happening. Is this my memory card fault or my camera. And i didnt change the setting at all last week and it just happened
Lindaexo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2014, 5:58 AM   #2

Can you try a different memory card?

One of the things that can happen is that the index of files (the File Allocation Table or FAT) can become corrupt, and while computers are sometimes robust enough to get past this, most cameras are not, so the camera fails to read a card that a computer can. A common preventative measure is to format the card periodically, which creates a new FAT and starts fresh. If you've got all your photos on your computer, you could try using your camera to format the card.

Another thing that can happen is that the contacts in the camera that connect to the card can become damaged or oxidized. If they're oxidized, you can remove and reinsert the card repeatedly, wearing away the oxidation. If they're damaged, however, there isn't much you can do.
  • The lens is the thing.
  • 'Full Frame' is the new 'Medium Format'.
  • "One good test is worth a thousand expert opinions." - Tex Johnston, Boeing 707 test pilot.
TCav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2014, 9:38 AM   #3

What kind of memory card is it (SDHC, Memory Stick Pro Duo, etc.)?

If your camera can't see it at all, and your computer can with it in a card reader, you may want to try formatting it using your computer. Then, see if you can format it using the camera's menu choice for format.