Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 26, 2004, 8:48 AM   #1
Default Which one?

:? I am ready to purchase my first digital camera. The driving force at this particular time is a scheduled trip to Africa this coming fall with a family member who will be hunting large game. The two cameras I have looked at the hardest are the Minolta A1 and the Cannon EOS Rebel. I will not be in a savannah setting with large herds at great distances, however, 100 to 200 yard distances will typically exist, so the ability of the optics included with these two models are important, I would guess. I am not very experienced, but am willing to put in the time to operate a quality camera correctly. Any advice is welcomed!
myounkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2004, 11:42 AM   #2

Well, both cameras are good, but the Canon will give you better results overall, and gives you options for lenses. It depends on how much money you wish to invest, and if the bulk/weight of carrying lenses around bothers you. The Rebel "kit" only comes with an 18-55mm lens, that would not be nearly great enough for wildlife photography.

Canon makes a 70-300mm lens with image stabilization (I.S.) that is really good for wildlife photography. It runs around $550.00 (U.S.) but is a little weighty. You can get cheaper lenses by other makers that cover a 70-300 or 100-300mm range, but they will not offer the image stabilization feature which will come in handy if you're not rock-steady when taking a photo, or in low light. On a Rebel, that 300mm lens will really be around 450mm too, making telephoto shots even better.