Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 10, 2004, 1:34 PM   #1
Default So frustrated, can anyone help? (Nikon 5700)

Hi all,
I've been reading this forum for a while now (during my search for the perfect camera) & just registered today

I'm very new to digital photography and I purchased a camera recently for my business (I make dolls) and mainly, to take pictures of my kids. After MUCH research, I got the Nikon Coolpix 5700 - after buying & returning the Kodak DX6490. My problem is that I have yet to get ONE good picture of my boys....they are ALWAYS blurry (I've had the camera for about 3 weeks!). I don't know much about the different manual settings, but I'm TRYING to learn.

I'm not trying to get pictures of them running around, they're 2 & 4 , but unless they are sleeping (statue still) I can't get a decent shot. I've been reading the manual and I'm not an idiot, but I can't for the life of me figure out what I need to set in order to get a good picture of something that isn't a life-less object.

I've seen postings here of people taking sports shots and there was one picture on Steve's review of this camera that is of a crowded lobby and it looks great.....I can't imagine that all those people stood perfectly still for him to take that shot, lol.

I knew that there would be much more to learn with this camra as opposed to the Kodak, but I DID think I'd be able to get some good pictures by now I'm so frustrated by this I could scream (again).
I'm putting the $#@& camera down for a while & going out for a bit.
Any help would be greatly appreciated by this photo-crazy mom I refuse to let this camera "beat" me, lol.
Thanks in advance
waterlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2004, 3:19 PM   #2

Hi WaterLily...

You have an excellent camera but there is a learning curve with it.

Study your manual for shutter priority mode.

Set your 5700 to shutter priority mode.