Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 19, 2004, 3:31 PM   #1
Default Any suggestions of digicams that may fit the citeria?

i'm totally new to digicam, so i really don't kno what i should expect in a digicam. please help!>.<

but i got these few features i realli would like:
PRICE RANGE: around $400USD (maximum $450)
around 3 megapixels
6X-up optical zoom
2X-up digital zoom (doesn't matter much)
easy to function
movie mode-(best with audio)
use SD memory card (because i heard xD is more expensive?)
use AA batteries (special photography batteries are more expensive?)

is it possible to get a camera like that?
thanks all for your help!thxthx!
toXie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2004, 6:10 PM   #2

You are going to need NiMh AA bbatteries because you won't be able to feed regular AA's fast enough. Camera's eat them.....so, resolve to getting rechargable NiMH batteries. At least 2 sets, preferably 3 sets. I suggest the Nikon Coolpix 4300. Many great features, strong ratings everywhere. I have a Coolpix 2100 which was nice for a first, but somewhat incapable camera. (Have since upped to an Olympus C5060) Don't even consider using the digital zoom of any camera. All that does is take chunks of what the optical zoom sees and you usually get grainy pictures. Your object is to take nice pictures, so resolve to spending the extra on rechargable batteries and good quality optical zoom. And read professional reviews, not opinions by a bunch of chatty internet camera geeks like me...... And don;t expect decent movie modes from a camera. Get a movie camera for that. You're also going to need a memory card becaue the one that comes with most cameras hold barely any pics.
Old Mar 19, 2004, 7:25 PM   #3

RGRotss is correct on digital zoom, very little use. Some of the video modes are getting pretty good (check out the Z2 specs) but those don't meet your other specs.

My suggestions are based on the 6x zoom requirement.