Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 27, 2002, 10:03 PM   #1
Default G2, or CP4500

Hi, I bet you guys get tired of hearing that same old question, " which one"?
Well I am sorry but that is just the situation i'm in. I have been reading reviews and looking at pictures untill I have it down to G2 and CP4500, I think.
I have been taking pictures for many years so I am not a newbie to photography, I am however a newbie to digital. I made the switch a few years back to automatic and feel that was a mistake. I like the freedom of auto it just doesn't take the quality I am used to.
I don't want to make the same mistake in digital. Please give me some ideas on the better camera, or does it matter as long as it is a quality camera? Thanks!

[Edited on 8-28-2002 by BP]
BP is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 27, 2002, 10:12 PM   #2

A quick contrast and comparison:

Both 4 megapixel, both take great images. At super low ISO (ISO-50) the G2 is a bit better image. Similar features but vastly different lenses. The low light capabilities on the G2 are superior. The CP4500 doesn't focus well in low light conditions and has a much slower lens.

The macro and telephoto capabilities are much better on the CP4500. Telephoto is nearly unlimited to as much as 6000mm connected to a good spotting scope for the 4500. G2 probably gets slightly better images right out of the camera with no tweaking - but pretty much limited to about a 1.7x tele zoom on top of the 3x.

Maybe neither of these is the best choice for you if you are really interested in manual features. I would look long and hard at the E10 Olympus. It's more like a film SLR than either of these two.

If you can afford it, take a long look at the Canon D60 or Nikon D100. These offer very similar performance and characteristics to a real film SLR.

Best regards,

[Edited on 8-28-2002 by Lin Evans]
Lin Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2002, 10:53 AM   #3