Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 30, 2004, 9:30 PM   #1
Default First DC Buy. Need help! [sony, nikon, fuji?]

You must be tired of reading posts like this, but... >_<

Hello, I'm an argentinian student and in the past few months I've been interested in buying a Digicam.
Please, excuse my english and my lack of photographic knowledge, since I have a Nikon [from 1978] which belonged to my father, but I only use it as a point-n-shoot camera.

My country isn't at its best econnomical period, dollars are way too expensive and my salary, which used to be 700 USD, thanks to nowaday crisis, suddenly changed to 200, or so.
My budget goes around US$350 and the best options I could find were these [The diff between US prices and ours is huge, it goes from $70 up to $500]:

- Sony DSC P72
- Nikon Coolpix 3100
- Fuji FinePix S3000

I really need to know which one should I buy. Most of the pictures I'll take will be just for fun or hobbie [mostly indoors, bars, discos, randomly landscapes, etc], but since, I sometimes have to do some design projects I need a good 3MPx camera [for my full-time work and freelance webdesign], without mentioning I'm a weird perfectionist with everything I do. I would love to have some manual mode options so I could take those lovely light effects' long exposure shots.
Video recording is also very important for me.

I've been gathering all the pros and cons for each camera and I would like you to take a look at them and tell me which one would be the best buy.

Sony DSC P72 (I've set my mind on this camera for the last 4 or 5 months)