Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 24, 2004, 1:11 PM   #1
Default Fuji s7000 or Kodak dx6490

I've been reading these forums for about a year now... just following the cameras, and what people think. I am a complete newbie when it comes to cameras... I've read ALOT of reviews and threads in various forums.. so I have a basic understanding of the features..etc. But no real personal experience.

I have chosen these two cameras based on price, and the fact that I'm a techie. I need the features that I'll probably rarely use. Now, given that I can get these two cameras (the fuji s7000 or kodak dx6490 with docking station and rechargeable battert) for the same price... I would like some professional advice from you guys.

On paper, the s7000 definately looks like a better camera... but I have read reviews indicating that image quality is soo pooor.. even though it's a 6mp camera. Printing mostly 4x6's, occasional legal size, and alot of online/webpage use... does the 6mp quality of the fuji come out soo poor that it will look worse than the 4mp quality of the kodak?

I would appreciate it if you guys could help me decide between these two cameras. Thanks soo much!
TheMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 25, 2004, 1:32 AM   #2
Default They're both decent cameras, but ...

I have had the S7000 since November and have been quite pleased with its images. I can hardly believe that its picture quality would be poorer than the Kodak 6490, though that camera has some nice features, including the 10X optical zoom.

Frankly, I think either of these cameras is more than adequate for your stated requirements. There are lots of 3 Meg cameras that would be fine.