Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 2, 2004, 5:25 PM   #1

Hi all,

i'm a newbie in the digicam world. I would like to buy a good, small digicam for this summer (because I will travel a lot! :-) ).

So after many hours reading reviews of digicams on the Net, I selected 5 cams :

-Canon SD410 (Ixus 430 in Europe)
-Canon A80 (or A75, maybe?)
-Panasonic DMC-FX1
-Sony DSC-W1
-Sony DSC-P93

I'm looking for a small cam, with a good image quality, a good movie mode and if it's possible, some manual settings (but a good point-n-shoot mode is mandatory as i'm a newbie uin photography). As i'm a Mac user (iBook G4 800), it could be a good point to have Mac friendly softwares!!!

In my selection, I particularly like the sony DSC-W1 because of its image quality, its compacity, its very good movie mode, its USB2 connection and its (limited) manual mode (and it uses AA battery, which is also a good point!).

Can you help me in my choice and tell me what you think of my selection. if you think that others cams can be a good choice tell me!

Sorry for my english, i'm a french student, and my english is far from being as good as I would desire.
zaack77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2004, 1:11 PM   #2

Zaack -

First of all - you're "English" is pretty Darned good.

Be careful of giving the "video" feature too much value. After you use it once or twice, you will see that the quality is terrible !!

Also it eats up memory very quickly - then you need to either erase you card or buy spares.

I suggest that the "real" importance is the best lens (thats where it all starts) if you do not have good glass then you are already starting to lose quality.

Anything over 3.2 megapixels will give good quality prints.

If it feels good "in hand" then you will always feel comfortable and more natural when you shoot.

There are many, many other factors but this is a start -

Good Shooting !!
Setiprime is offline   Reply With Quote