Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 8, 2004, 8:18 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I just purchased a canon powershot S60. I have two questions

1) Should a buy a normal SD card or buy the Ultra II, will ultra decrease the write times

2) The S60 comes with 3 types quality which are

Superfine 2.4MB

Fine 1.4MB

Normal 695KB

I am going to be using the pics to print 5x7 size prints maybe some 8x10's, so the question is what quality should I use.

I am a total newbie, please help.

Your help is greatly appreciated.
singhera is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 8, 2004, 8:46 PM   #2

First of all, do NOT buy any type of SD Card. SD stands for Secure Digital. It's a small footprint card used by many newer models.

SD is NOT compatible with your Canon S60. Your Canon uses CompactFlash Type I or Type II.

Personally, I've had good luck with Lexar's CompactFlash cards, in camera's I've owned using CompactFlash media. However, many brands will work fine. You may want to check with users in the Canon Forum, to see what works for them.

As for Image Size, I always shoot at the highest resolution my camera supports. You never know when you'll want to print at larger sizes. Also, the extra resolutiongives you a little room for cropping if you're not going to be printing as large.

As for JPEG Compression Quality, each user will have their own preferences. Many prefer to shoot at the highest quality for all photos. Personally, I switch back and forth (shooting at Normal Quality for snapshots in restaurants, etc., when I know I won't need to print the images at a larger size).

However, Memory Card space is inexp1ensive, so I wouldn't try to cut corners too much if I were you. Again, you may take a photo that you are proud of, so you want to have the best quality available for printing.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2004, 8:55 AM   #3