Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 19, 2004, 8:37 AM   #1

I'm new to the D-SLR world, coming from a Sony DSC-P72. I have the Nikon D70, awesome camera. I want to learn more about photography but first I need to make sure my foundation is rock solid hense the really really basic questions below.

Aperture: That's the size of the hole (like the iris of your eye) right but why is the number, the f-stop the inverse, smaller number means larger hole?
What does this number mean, some sort of measurement?

Focal length: This one I'm totally confused on.
80mm, 120mm. I think it's the distance from the lenses to the sensor (in a digital camera). So a larger number gives you a higher zoom rate?
How do the numbers equate to a zoom number, eg, 120mm equals 12x (or what ever)

Eventually I'll be purchasing two lenses one for close ups (for flowers and such) and one for telephoto (I want good wide angle zoom lens if there is one). The close up lens is call a macro lens (not sure why) and I want to get a feel of what all of the numbers mean so I can an informed consumer. These lenses, especially the Nikon branded lens for the D70 are quite expensive.

If you can provide some detail or provide some links to help me learn, that would be excellent.
maflynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2004, 8:47 AM   #2

hm...i can answer some(if not all) of these

ok, yes, the arperture is the iris, that you can make bigger and smaller (like you said)
the smaller the number the larger the hole...

the fstop numbers are measurements, i'm not sure if it's inches/millimeters though...

so far you are right about the focal length, the larger the number the more "zoom" you have...

ok, to get how many "times" it is, you take the focal length, multiply it by two, then take off the zeros...so, a 300mm lens would be (x2=600-00=6x) 6x

i would suggest checking out the site

it's got a bunch of tutorials and articles that will help you out...