Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 6, 2004, 9:35 PM   #1

I am brand new to digital photography, just as a test I photographed a wall of GREEN ivy and then printed the downloaded file with the software that came with the camera (photoshop). The file when viewed on a monitor with any file view shows the ivy as GREEN, but when I print on a old HP 710c the ivy comes out BLUE.

Do I have a problem with my camera or printer or software? Is their a easy way for a beginner like me to check this out?

Fhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 7, 2004, 7:28 AM   #2

My apologies since nobody has answered this.. But, it's not so simple to tell. You'd need to make sure your monitor was probably calibrated first.

Chances are, it's your printer (but it could be your monitor calibration, software, etc.).

This is a complex subject. If your white balance is not set correctly in the camera you can get bad colors, and your monitor may need calibrating to see them correctly.

But, most models do a reasonable job using flash, and most do a good job in outdoor conditions with white balance. Indoors without a flash, you may need to use a custom white balance setting in the camera.

It's more likely to be your printer (or the color profiles being used by the printer). Most modern printers have a way to use ICC profiles (allowing them to be calibrated for the paper type being used), but your older HP may not, and the way the software is driving the printer with it's color profilescould be causing a problem, too.

If you're sure that you have the correct paper type selected (I don't know if your model uses an auto paper type sensor or not), then I'd probably try printing from HP's Photo Printing Software to see if that solves the problem.