Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 12, 2002, 9:05 PM   #1
Default Which camera should I buy?

I am new in this, and would like to buy a digital camera. I have read about many brands and really donīt know which one to choose. I think my final decision will be between the Canon Powershot A40 and the Nikon Coolpix 775, and in personal opinion, I like A40, but I am not very convinced. I also read about the Fuji Finepix 2650 and Olympus D-510Z. These are all 2 megapixel cameras, have similar features and move in a similar price range. Which camera should I buy taking into consideration features, image quality and price? Thanks.
leyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2002, 9:08 PM   #2

I think that Oly d510 would be an excellent purchase. I owned the d490 and was very happy with the quality pics. Have fun on which ever you choose.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2002, 10:37 PM   #3

What kind of pictures will you be taking. How much do you want to spend. Are you a novice or have experience with 35mm SLR cameras. More indoor or outdoor shooting.
rikster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2002, 11:12 AM   #4

In addition to the reviews here, you might want to consult some of the other reviews on this list:

Sanpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2002, 3:25 AM   #5

I am fairly new to digital photography (one year), but have been into film photography for about 20 years. In that time I went from a simple 110 pocket camera up to a Minolta SLR with all the goodies. Along the way each camera I bought was more complicated than the previous, but allowed me to do things that the previous wouldn't. Some people would much rather have a camera like the 110 that I started out with which took mediocre pictures but was easy enough for a 5 year old to use.