Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 14, 2002, 9:43 PM   #1
Default I like to rank digital cameras by brand...am I correct?

Hi! I think Canon is the best, overall, followed by Olympus then Sony.

Can you tell me how I should rank the following, Fuji, Kodak, and HP? I am thinking Fuji > Kodak > HP, what do you think?

Sorry I am a complete newb and am quite overwhelmed by all the different brands out there and this is my attempt at making sense out of them.

Thanks for your help.
SorcsRfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2002, 10:04 PM   #2

I would think that your rating system would be interpreted differtently by the owner of a specific camera. I own Olympus and may always rate it as best. I have tested other cameras and continue to comeback to Olympus. Had my first camera been a Canon, then I would proably be singing a different tune.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2002, 7:09 AM   #3

You got it gibsonpd3620, the complete ordered list is:

1) My Camera
2) All the other junk
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2002, 7:24 AM   #4

In my opinion, practically all the major camera manufacturers manufacture the cameras to high standards, and have some technology patented by them, and one can not rank them just by their brands.

It depends upon user to user,

BTW, you forgot to mention NIKON in your ranking, i guess it is one of the best digicam manufacturer

ajitkataria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2002, 11:36 AM   #5

It wont make any sense ranking ANYTHING after BRANDS. That would be really stupid and impossible. Whats the gain ?
Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2002, 12:21 PM   #6

i hate to admit it but Klaus DK is correct even though his wording leaves a little to be desired. and i myself am guilty of that too.

to rank any grouping of products by brand would be a considerable error on anyones part.