Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 17, 2005, 6:43 AM   #1

Hello there Fellow Photography Enthusiasts...

I am very new to digital photography.

I own a beginner level
Canon A400 camera.

recently i took photo's of the sun (directly)

after this, i find the pictures i take a little over-exposed, and dark (brightness is low). could this have to do with the Sun damaging the ccd/camera?

I wonder... thanks for your views in advance. i hope i get to understand.
Cheers,
Mark.
trademarxz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2005, 7:54 AM   #2

I know that the manual of my camera said not to do it.
But I have done it a few times with no problems.

I don't know if your problem could have been caused by it or not.

Sorry, can't help much more than that.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2005, 10:29 AM   #3

Thank you Eric.
trademarxz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2005, 11:46 AM   #4

It doesn't hurt to take the sun directly if it on the horizon for sunrise and sunset. The large amount of atmosphere it has to travel through filters out most of the harmful rays. But you don't want to aim your camera directly at the sun when it is high and bright. You could have caused problems if you did that.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2005, 3:34 PM   #5

Were the pictures ok before you took photos of the sun? That is, you had good exposure (brightness etc) originally. But now, every photo that you take (even in good lighting conditions) seems to have a problem?

It's 'possible' that the camera may have been damaged by the sun....but then again, it could have failed for some other reason not related to the sun. But you should do more tests with it over time. That is, take pictures in good lighting conditions on 'Automatic' setting. If the pictures are no good, then something's got to be wrong.