Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 19, 2002, 8:40 AM   #1
Default A LOGICAL QUESTION. . . .I think

Have a fairly easy question for those who know.

How much better (sharper) is a 3mp photo (seen on a monitor), then a 4mp?. . .Heck, how about a 5mp for that matter.

As I understand it, the more MP are used, the larger the photo is. So by that reasoning, what good is a 4 or 5mp camera if a person must reduce the pic to fit the monitor???

As you've noticed, I'm really new at this. . .but I'm trying. :?
STECOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2002, 9:20 AM   #2

1mp will be fine for a PC screen. it's prints that mean you need the biiger MP. I find 3MP is MORe than enough.
Alfisti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2002, 9:36 AM   #3

You can't see more than the detail resolution of your output device. Monitor res. is generally 72 dpi. Higher resolution modes are possible but crt's suffer brightness/contrast decreases. So why shoot more? Well edge detail is not just about whether a single pixel is there or not, on or off, Edges are really 3 dimensional so the improvement you might see is not easy to define with simple 2D arithmetic. BUT put 2 pictures side by side and the difference can be visible to the point where pics 'look & feel' more real and better quality.

Monitors are fairly easy to scale res. for, but most photographers are interested in hard copy, where size and resolution become more important. Photo capture and editing usually involves file compression so the more detail you start with - the better will be the result after decoding. Editing often involves cropping so having more pixels to start with is important.