Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27, 2005, 9:32 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15

I keep reading about firmware and have no idea what it is? Can someone please elaborate.

snowflake12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2005, 9:40 AM   #2
Senior Member
rob_strain's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fort Knox, Ky.
Posts: 282

It's the software built into the camera that tells the camera how to work. By upgrading the firmware, you can fix problems or add features that are there, but not active.
rob_strain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2005, 9:52 AM   #3
Nagasaki's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 897

The term comes from the computing industry.

Hardware is the bits you can touch like your monitor or camera. Software is the programs that make it all run and are supplied on disks for you to install. Firmware is that bit in between. It's software because it is just computer code to make things run but it's built into the hardware on dedicated chips so it's called firmware.
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2005, 10:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 824

snowflake12 wrote:
I Can someone please elaborate.
As one further elaboration, hardware is physical, so always there; software are the "commands"; they are there so long as the power is on, but they disappear when the power is off. Firmware is software (i.e., commands) but they're written into solid-state hardware devices; what this means is that the commands can be changed by rewriting if necessary; but at the same time, since they're written into solid-state devices, they won't disappear when the power is turned off.
Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2005, 3:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
ukwoody's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 190

If you've ever wondered what the balck and white writing is that comes onto your pc screen everytime you boot up, before windows starts, that is basically firmware.

It's there, butyou can't really access it. It's software - ie a program - but it tells the rest of the hardware how to do something.

ukwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2005, 11:18 AM   #6
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 39

I would point out that if you intend to upgrade the firmware on something, be sure you are comfortable with what you are doing, and follow the instructions. The most important thing is not to cut the power during the process. If you interrupt the transfer, the device will be left without it's software, including the software for upgrading the software! This is basically like a lobotomy for an electronic device. It's just dead. The manufacturer may be able to fix it by replacing a circuit board, but it'll cost.

I broke a DVD player by trying to upgrade the firmware and then accidentally cutting the power. I couldn't believe I'd done it. So stupid.
martinbishop is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.