Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 7, 2003, 7:36 AM   #1
Default Advice Needed :)

Here goes....

I'm very new to the digital camera world and have only been researching for a week or so. I am leaving for a five week trip to Egypt and Thailand in two weeks and I'm seriously considering buying a digital camera. It will get a lot of use when I am home, but being able to take my camera on long trips is also a priority.

In light of the reviews, articles, camera shop visits and my budget I've finally narrowed my choice down. This is how it goes

Fuji FinePix 3800
128MB x-D card
Nixvue Digital Album 20GB
Rechargeable battery kit (with 8 NiMH batteries all up)

What do you think? Obviously storage is going to be a key issue with travel. In Australia all I have been able to find available in storage devices is the Nixvue. Also I figured the 128mb card would be useful, so that I could get almost each days worth of shots on it and download them onto the nixvue each night- without having to worry about doing it during the day.

Some of the downsides to the 3800 seem to be focusing in low light and using AA batteries.

If I take two sets of NiMH (one for back-up) that should be enough for a days shooting (I can recharge at night). How do the rechargers go using power travel adapters?

Anyway I'm really just after some advice/suggestions. Do you think I have made some good choices? Also is what I have listed all that would be necessary for me to take?

Phew...sorry for the long-winded post.

Phillippa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2003, 7:44 AM   #2

I think I've hit my first problem- doesn't seem like the Nixvue supports x-D :roll:
Phillippa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2003, 7:47 AM   #3