Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 28, 2003, 1:08 PM   #1
Default Compact Flash reader vs. downloading from camera

I'm new to digital photography, so excuse my ignorance here. I just bought a Fuji FinePix S602 and a 128MB Viking Compact Flash card. I also purchased a Viking Intelliflash media reader - unfortunately, before the camera arrived. The camera came with its own software for downloading pictures (I guess I should have known that). My questions is this -- is there an advantage using the media reader to download my pictures to my PC instead of using the software that came with the camera? And, to download from the media reader, do I just move (or drag and drop) the files from the reader to a folder on my PC? (The reader only came with a sheet on how to install the software/device, not on how to actually use it to download.) It seems to me that the only difference is that, to download directly from the camera, I must plug in the USB cable to the camera to do the download, whereas with the reader, I must remove the Compact Flash from the camera and insert it into the reader. I guess what I really want to know is, did I waste money buying the media reader, or is there really some advantage to using it as opposed to just downloading directly from the camera. Thanks in advance for any guidance you can offer.
cbaker2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2003, 2:49 PM   #2

I'm just a newbie 'round here, but offhand the biggest advantage to me would be twofold... One, if you don't want to always have your camera physically with you to download the pics, you can simply take the media (say you have a reader at the office and your camera at home or whatever). You can always look at your media without having to tie up your camera. Similarly (and my second point) is that you don't have to use your camera's battery when transferring pics (if I understand correctly).