Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 29, 2003, 8:51 PM   #1
Default What digicams have a good macro feature?

I'm new to digi photography, but not film photography. In order to take more pictures of everyday things, as well as coins (I'm an avid collector) I have chosen to go digital. An ideal camera would have a strong macro, give pictures at least 1500 pixels wide to provide cropping room, and also be fast enough for regular use (people pictures, scenery that I want more pictures of but don't want to spend an entire roll of film, etc.)

I am just a teenager, so I don't have a lot of money to spend on a camera. My birthday is coming up, and my parents will probably defray the cost to an extent, so I can probably go with a camera around $300-$400 (used could be acceptable).

I have a strong interest in the Ricoh 4300, 5000, and 5300, as well as the rr30, as I know of their exceptional macros (around 1cm, as I have been told). Does anyone know the basic differences between the 5000 and 5300? The rr30 looks really nice, but I can't find them used, and they might be too much money.

All opinions are more than welcome- do you have any ideas for where to get the camera? I have been looking at eBay a lot, but I would also like to know what camera stores online stock them- new or used.

Jeremy Katz
airplanenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2003, 8:55 PM   #2

The Olympus C4000 has a macro and super macro mode which should work great for shot of coins. You can check Steve's review.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2003, 7:02 PM   #3

The digicams that wrote the book on macro mode are Nikon Coolpix 950, 990, 995, 4500.

steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2003, 7:43 PM   #4

The CP990 series has the potential to become a collector item, and to top it off it also the last of the Nikon to takes rechargeable NiMh AA batteries! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Get it!