Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 3, 2005, 12:28 PM   #1

Hi there,

I'm a newbie in playing around with my fz5. I'm experimenting with making macro shots, but it appears difficult to get the camera to focus (the autofocus is adjusting all the time but it keeps blurry).

A basic question, should I put the object close to the lense (5 cm?) without zooming - or should I put my object far away (1m?) and zoom in to 12x?

And other tips on how to make these extreme close-ups?

kitt3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2005, 12:35 PM   #2

The main thing I would suggest is to make sure the image has enough light. Macro shots seem to like more light than normal images. Auto-focussing doing a lot of hunting often suggests that there isn't enough light, and I don't know whether the assist light will be of much use in macro mode. FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2005, 4:42 AM   #3

Hmm.. not enough light - that might be... I was trying to shootinside.

I'll try again somewhere with better light, thanks for the advice
kitt3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2005, 12:03 PM   #4

With your model, you'll get smaller frame coverage (able to "fill the frame" with a smaller area) at it's wide angle position. But, this is also where you'll have more barrel distortion and edge softness, not to mention lighting difficulties from shooting from a closer distance (since the camera can cast a shadow).

At the longer end of your lens (more optical zoom), you will not be able to "fill the frame" with a subject as small (you'll need to capture a larger area). But, you'll have less problems with barrel distortion and edge softness (although camera shake will be magnified more).

So, there are pros and cons to doing it either way.

As for the focus distances, there do seem to be some descrepancies between some of the specifications.

For example, we're showing slightly further distances are required: