Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 6, 2005, 11:17 AM   #1

I'm a novice and purchased the Olympus Camedia C-5500. I love the camera and chose it to take photos of our new baby. I got some great advice from the forums here, before deciding on this camera. I am now in need of a Crash CourseonAperture Priority and Shutter Speed. I've been experimenting with some nice results.

Any suggestions on what settings to use to take a photo of my daughter in front of a lit up Christmas tree? I have control of Aperture Priority, Shutter Speed, Flash, White Balance and ISO. I've taken photos of the tree and lights look like stars (which I like). This was done with no flash, ISO 80, Shutter Speed 4 Sec, F/8 (I'm guessing this is Aperture Priority). I just can't figure out how to get this result and my daughter in the photo with good lighting on her face. The 4 sec Shutter Speed isn't practical for a 4 month old (but I'll deal with that if I have to). Is this possible with this camera?

Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

afcove is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2005, 2:09 PM   #2

try aperture priority and set the f stop to 2.8 (or as wide open as the camera lens will allow)

put your daughter in front of the tree with a lamp on the floor off to the side but nearer to the camera

focus on her eyes

have fun, enjoy the holidays
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 2:10 PM   #3

I think you're after a difficult shot. Here's my understanding of the situation. I'm sure someone more knowldgeable will correct me if I'm wrong. When you got the star-like affect from the Christmas tree lights, it was because those lights were over-exposed. This is what you would expect with a dark scene that had point-sources of illumination.