Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 10, 2006, 10:33 AM   #1

Ok.. I'm pretty new to 'actual' photography.. I've taken thousands up thousands of photos.. I think I'm inline with basic composition.. But I think it's about time that I 'grew up' .. at least to the level where I can move outside of all the auto - lazy ass camera settings. I'm bad with just fixing things in photoshop.

Is there a decent 'kindergarden' book that takes you step by step through shutter speeds, camera settings, lighting, etc...

What I'd like to do is work day to day.. kinda like lessons.. That way I don't get overwhelmed.. and it just may stick.

I'd love to take a short little course, but don't have the time with my sons to get out without them.

I'd love for a book (dummies series maybe??).. or even a good site that has all the basics stepped out. I'd prefer to stick with one book or site.. do that.. and then move on. I'm still learning terms, etc..

Of course.. This forum.. you guys are stuck with me.. sorry..lol

FYI.. I'm not interested in drowning myself with SLR type info.. All digital right now.

Canon S2 IS
vwmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2006, 2:22 PM   #2

Well, a lot about photography is still the same with digital as it was with film. So books from the library about photography are still very valid (i.e. how aperture, shutter speed, film speed (ISO) affect exposure).

For a website, you might try the Canon Learning center at the link below. Choose the link for Digital Rebel. The first set of tabs in the tutorial are about general photography and apply to any camera that has creative modes (aperture priority, shutter priority, manual). So I think they'll give you a decent start on some of the fundamentals of photography and shooting outside the fully automatic camera modes.