Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 19, 2003, 10:48 PM   #1
Default new to digital slr

I am new to digital slr, and have just found out when you buy the camera it does not include lens or glass as they say.

I am considering a new canon eos 10d and wondered if someone could guide me to a general list of lens required.

I currently have a Minolta dimage 7, and although its great camera, find it slow in focus and taking lots of shots (I am a real newbie) the canon looks like it might be in my price range and do what i want.

I am interested in bird photography so need zoom and fast shutter (i think) I am hoping someone will help me with info...we all have to start out somewhere...

patriciaann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2003, 11:15 PM   #2

I, too, got a Canon SLR recently, but I went the much-cheaper route and got a film one! :lol:

But, Canon SLRs and DSLRs both use the same EF-range lenses, and as long as you factor in the 1.6x magnification factor of the 10D (I think), the same rule applies as far as usability of lenses go.

If you do nothing else, go to the Photonotes website:

... and check out the following articles:

- Canon EOS Beginner FAQ
- Canon EOS Flash Photography
- A Few Inexpensive Canon EF-mount lenses

(the latter is in the Reviews section).

Also check out the Photo.net website (www.photo.net)--this is also chock-full of useful information.

(By the way, all the prices below are quoted in US dollars)

This is my interpretation, but Canon seems to make three distinct levels of EF lenses. The bottommost that you should avoid at all costs are the "kit" lenses that get included with most SLR kits--typically 28-85mm or so and with barely passable optics. True they are the cheapest, but why bother putting cheap lenses on a $1,500 DSLR?