Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 27, 2006, 9:36 PM   #1

So, this may sound like a rather silly question but bear in mind I am really new at Digital photography and ordering prints online. I have just started ordering from some online photo sites and they are cropping my photos to fit the size format, I suppose. Is this common to have this cropping done? Is there a way to stop it by using a different camera setting (I have a Canon S2)?
MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 27, 2006, 10:55 PM   #2

Well, not sure which online service you are using, but I know my wife has been using Shutterfly for quite some time now and she hasnt had a problem with them cropping her pictures.

I asked her and she uploads the photo's in the size she plans to have the prints on, so, thats most likely why they dont crop anything on her..

Maybe get in the habit, of only up-loading cropped down photos, since they most likely dont crop your photos quite as nice as you would?

Good luck!
Tat2dGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 10:58 PM   #3

I use futureshop online service.. they print mine as I upload them.
vwmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 11:03 PM   #4

I use Sony Imagestation...I don't believe they crop my images either, but I think the size of the pictures are less than what's advertised because an 8.5 x 11 has a pretty big white border around it. So does the 4 x 6's
fatalysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 11:25 PM   #5

It sounds like you are ordering 4x6 inch prints. The problem is that most digicams shoot at a 4:3 aspect ratio (the dimensional relationship of the length to the hight) and the popular 4x6 inch prints have a 3:2 aspect ratio.