Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 11, 2003, 6:20 PM   #1
Default Advice on buying a digital camera

I have resisted buying a digital camera for a variety of reasons, mainly because I'm entrenched in old habits. I take a lot of photos with slides for magazines (I'm a free-lance writer/photographer). I am in the beginning stages of self-publishing a book, and instead of taking slide film and incurring the expense of having my chromes separated I would rather step up and buy a good, but affordable digital camera. The average size photo would run a half page, but there might be a situation where I'd want to run a full page photo (similar to 8X10). If there's anyone who has advice on what camera would suit my needs I would appreciate any feedback. In terms of what I plan to spend I'm looking at somewhere between $1,000 and $1,500. In advance, thanks.
Portland Pat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 11, 2003, 10:41 PM   #2

A 3MP camera will make nice 8x10's, and so will a good 2MP. In your price range, you can afford far more, but I'd offer these suggestions to help you decide on what camera to buy:
1. What features of your old SLR can you just NOT do without?
e.g., zoom range, exposure compensation, durability, interchangeable lenses, etc.
2. Are you looking for an SLR-sized replacement, or will a smaller camera do?
3. How much do you use flash? Will you need one with a hot shoe, for example?
4. Digital cameras have high power requirements. Make sure you get at least a couple of sets of replacement batteries. Does it matter whether they are AA or proprietary?
5. Are you taking a lot of wide angle photos? The D7i comes with a 28mm equivalent, and most others are 35-38mm.