Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 16, 2003, 4:28 PM   #1
Default Considering digital camera--any suggestions

:? I've been put in charge of purchasing a new digital camera for our church. I've been told that I can spend up to $500 for the camera (we'll be buying accessories later) Everytime I think I know what I want, I hit another snag. So, could anyone help?

Initially, I was looking at the Olympus C730. Like the zoom and haven't read anything which really steered me away from them.

Then I read about the Fuji s602--how you can take pictures in faster succession.

...and then... I could look at them until I'm blue in the face, but I've been doing it for 2 months and don't feel any more comfortable hitting that "order confirmation" button than I did when I started!?!

So here's where I stand: Need a camera that's relatively easy to use, particularly since there will likely be multiple users. Want something with pretty good optical zoom, since many pictures may need to be taken from a ways away (ie. baptisms/weddings from across the distance of the church). We have a pre-school, so we'll be taking lots of pictures of kids, both indoors and out.

If I was spending my money, I'd have made a purchase a long time ago--I can live with my mistakes. I just hate to make one with someone else's money--especially when it's my church's! So THANKS for any help!
roadrnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 16, 2003, 10:43 PM   #2
Default I have a Canon S400

I have the Canon S400, I purchased last month. I love it. It is simple to use, durable, tiny and takes beautiful pictures. And it is in your budget range. It has a 3X optical zoom and I think a 8x digital but I only use the optical.

If you would like to see some sample picutres go to this link where I have posted some. A few were taken on an older Kodak so just make sure you look under each picture, it will tell you what camera there.