Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 12, 2003, 4:57 PM   #1
Default Looking for good, big prints

Hello! I'm new here, as well as to digital cameras...

Well, I've been searching and reading and confusing myself for quite some time now, trying to choose my digital camera.

Here's my situation: I'm used to working with a pro film camera (35mm), can't say I'm a professional bc I just don't make money out of it, hehe, but I do intend to soon. Just graduated in journalism and want to practice more before I venture into the money-making world for real.

My problem is, I just can't or don't want to afford spending too much money on film just so I can practice the language. Besides, I like the idea of having the results right away on your hands, which is a good idea for some of my uses for photography. I don't intend on abandoning film, but I think a digital camera will give me the oportunity to build a good portfolio without spending too much time and money (ok, aside from the initial investment on the camera), and will let me click the button without worrying about costs.

So now that I've told you about my life... the camera.
I can't afford a super pro digital camera, so my price range goes to about $700. What I want is: option for full manual control (aperture, focus, speed, everything); option for external flash, specially if it's TTL; maybe being able to change lenses (I'd actually love to take super close pictures, and wide angle would *definitely* please me); and the main point - GOOD QUALITY, BIG PICTURES.

I was almost set on an Olympus C-4040Z, until I started reading again and got all confused about it, hehe...

What camera can I trust on that will give me good, big prints? I mean good as if I got them from film, you know? Good like I could even make a small exhibit out of them. Good like I could use them for commercial flyers and posters. Good like 300dpi, over 21cm x 30cm (8 x 12 inches, aprox.). Good like film!