Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 9, 2006, 4:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
Imacer's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 474

At what ISO does the noise start to show on photos?
Imacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 9, 2006, 5:51 PM   #2
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,528

Depends on a lot of variables - what camera you are using, what the makeup of the photo is (i.e. darker areas tend to show noise first) and how well exposed the shot was. A properly exposed shot will greatly aid in lowering the noise content of an image. But the camera plays a large part. Some of the better noise handling DSLRs have the same noise at ISO 1600 that some of the digicams have at ISO 200.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:03 PM.