Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 21, 2003, 9:37 PM   #1
Default first dig. cam. 2MP or 3 MP?

Hi. I am a total newbie and want to buy a digital camera.
I am a college student, therefore I am poor and I live in a poor country. ops:

Anyway, I have been reading some reviews and can't decide. I am interested in OLYMPUS CAMEDIA D-520 Zoom, which has 2MP. What do you think? Is 2MP enough?

I tried to compare sample pics of 3MP cameras and 2MP but they look similar to me.

What other brand would you recommend me? Does Sony make good dig. cameras?

Also, what is your opinion about refurbished cameras? I am trying to buy at ebay in my country and refurbished ones are cheaper. Are they "dangerous"?

I am not skilled at photography but I am interested in learning and also, I want a camera that will last for many years and something that is affordable.

Thank you!!!!
Choco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2003, 11:43 PM   #2

My camera is a 2MP camera.

Its great for 4x6, I don't see a problem with 5x7s but I haven't yet printed off a 8x10 though after reading through these forums, 8x10 print would be done without any cropping, so you would have to frame your shot almost perfectly to get a decent quality picture.

If you have the budget to go for the 3MP I would suggestion going for that
Gimli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 8:26 PM   #3

I'll ditto Gimli's point. If you ever plan to print 8X10's, get the 3 megapixel. You can print a good 8X10 from a 2 megapixel file, but not if you need to do any serious cropping. The 3 megapixel file gives you a little leeway for cropping
JimHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 10:44 PM   #4

Thanks very much for your replies.

I think I will go for 3MP.

I ahve another question. Which brand make better di-cams: canon, olympus or sony?
Old May 23, 2003, 3:03 PM   #5