Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 6, 2006, 3:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2

Hi everyone!

Thanks for a great forum first of all! Always finds problems and tips here!

I have a problem...Just got a D50 and also got a Twinmos 2gb 150x SD card. And this is what is causing the problem..

I formated it first with the computer(FAT) and then the camera could read it and write to it but when I then put it back into the computer to download them I have a lot of folders and files with really strange characters to them! But I can still watch them on the camera..

Then I formated with the D50 but then my computer couldn't read it and said that my card was not formated and want to do so..Here I can also watch them on my camera..

What could be wrong? It is sooo frusturating having to buy a new card for this problem.. :sad:

Thankful for any help or suggestions to solve this problem!

Thanks / Snobba
snobba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2006, 3:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
rjseeney's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Posts: 2,398

Your card reader may be incompatible with the SD card you're using. Why not just connect the camera directly to the computer. The D50 supports USB 2 transfer speeds, and is easier than inserting and removing the card to download pics.With the long battery life of the nikon DSLR's, I gave up using a card reader a long time ago. As a side note, you should always format the card in camera, not via computer. The cameras format function sets the FAT table exactly the way it is looking for.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 3:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks rjseeney,

But it reads perfectly before I format it in the camera so I wonder if the camera is doing it in a really strange way?! I just have to transfer via the camera as you say, but I hate that when you just starting to learn a camera and use a tripod...Then I shot 10 shots, look at it, shot 10 more and so on..

But maybe is there some formatting tool out there that may work..tried the panasonic one but that didn't work at all...Does anyone know some more?

Thanks for the help!

/ Snobba
snobba is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:28 AM.